Colorful extended hand

About SLC

The Service Learning Certificate Program in the Office of Multi-ethnic Student Education at the University of Maryland will provide an opportunity for students to actively engage in five stages of Service Learning including (Inventory and Investigation;  Preparation and Planning;  Action – (Direct Service, Advocacy; , Reflection and Demonstration.  Participants will have met the following goals and acquire skills and competencies through experiential activities, workshops, dialogues, readings and ongoing training:
  • Peer Tutoring
  • Social Justice Development, Awareness and Competency
  • Personal and Professional Development
  • Social and Civic Responsibility
  • Intellectual Development
Adapted From The Complete Guide to Service Learning: Proven, Practical Ways to Engage Students in Civic Responsibility, Academic Curriculum, & Social Action (Revised & Updated Second Edition) by Cathryn Berger Kaye, M.A., copyright © 2010. Free Spirit Publishing Inc., Minneapolis, MN; 800-735-7323;

CONTACT: Harita Patel, Coordinator